All about me!

My name is Shannon and I just turned 26! I have a wonderful boyfriend, Josh, who has the most precious son, Brayden, who is 6 years old. We just bought a house in Little Sioux, IA which is about 45 miles north of Omaha, NE where Josh and I both lived when we met. I am originally from a small town in central Iowa, about 3 hours from Omaha, and moved to Omaha for college when I was 18. I stayed after graduation when I received a job at the same university I graduated from! While working, I was able to complete my master's degree in Negotiation and Dispute Resolution and was able to do some mediation work part time while continuing to work full time at the university. I really enjoy mediating and hope one day I will be able to do it full time.

In the meantime, I enjoy my job as an admissions counselor. It allows me to talk to people for a job! And get in a little traveling. My number one priority of course is my family. It is hard some days to live 3 hours away from my hometown and family, but one of the reasons for buying a house in Little Sioux is because that's where Josh's family lives, so we live very close to them! We are both small town people and were getting sick of Omaha. (I realize Omaha isn't a big city like New York City or Los Angeles, but when you come from a town of 2500 people, it's a big city.) We purchased a 3 bedroom house and two lots for less than what some people buy cars for, and completely gutted it and made it our own. Josh is quite the handy man and was able to do all the work, which saved a ton of money, and it is the house of our dreams!

Brayden is 6 years old and just finished kindergarten. He's growing up so fast! I've known him since he was 3 and I can't believe how much he's changed in the last 3 years. He is so smart! He can read SO much and is always asking questions and wanting to learn. He is definitely his father's son and loves the outdoors and fishing. Being a "step-mom" is probably the hardest thing I've ever done, but he makes it completely worth it.

I can't forget to introduce the other member of our family. Carleigh is our 3 year old and sometimes literally makes me feel like I have a second child. I think somedays I pick up after her more often than I do Brayden! But she is definitely part of our family!

I started this blog soon after turning 25 which was a big deal for me for some reason. I'm not exactly sure why, but there was something about being half way to 30 that didn't set well with me. I thought if I could document my life, it would give me something to look back on and see all that I have accomplished, which really has been a lot. I completely failed at blogging for the first year but now that I just turned 26, my goal for the next year is to really keep up on this! I really enjoy doing it!

No comments:

Post a Comment